Auburn, Ala. - A State of Alabama law passed in the 2011 legislative session took effect this month affecting Alabama drivers. Act 2011-613 requires that defendants, convicted of DUI for an offense committed on or after September 1, 2012, have an ignition interlock device installed on their automobiles. The device uses a breath alcohol analyzer to prevent a car from starting if a driver’s blood alcohol level exceeds the calibrated setting on the device. First-time DUI offenders are required to have the device installed when one of the following conditions are present:
1.) Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.15 or higher;
2.) Refusal to provide a BAC;
3.) A child under 14 was in the car at the time of arrest;
4.) A third party was injured at the time of the offense.
Penalties increase with subsequent offenses. The Act also states that "any person ordered by the court to have an ignition interlock device installed on a designated vehicle shall pay to the court, during the first three months his or her license is suspended, seventy-five dollars ($75) per month." Alternately, the Act provides that “any defendant who does not own a vehicle or otherwise have an ignition interlock device installed" shall pay $75 to the court clerk per month.
For more information, please contact the Judicial Department at 501-3180.